Deleting a user the right way in CRM 4.0

I always enjoy getting stumped, and sometimes things come out of left field and you find yourself scratching your head for a while. This happened to me recently at work when I had a Help Desk ticket escalate out of the Help Desk and up to me. Now, normally I try to let the Help Desk staff run with problems because I think it’s important for their own professional growth but this had me digging and missing the obvious. The help desk ticket was as wordy as long-winded as you’d expect.

“User can’t add items to order”.

Such incredible insight in 6 short words. OK, I’ll be honest, an order number would have helped but I wasn’t going to hold my breath. So, I try to add an item to an order and it works just fine. Later, I get a screenshot and an order number so I figure we’re in business. But what’s this?

Error
“The selected user or the user trying to log on has not been assigned a security role, and does not have sufficient privileges for this action. For more information, contact your Microsoft Dynamics CRM administrator.”

OK, that’s odd. This is clearly a built-in CRM error message. I quickly check the user’s roles and everything’s just fine, so I try to add an item to the order myself. My assumption is that since I’m a System Administrator I shouldn’t have a problem, but I do. Same error message! How can this be!? Well, if it’s happening to me as a System Administrator, then it must not be my roles in question and it isn’t the users. “The selected user”…. of course! This isn’t my order, so let me check the security roles belong to the order’s owning user. Take a look at the image and tell me what’s missing.

NoRoles

Guessed it yet? No Roles! In our case, the owner of the order was user that was no longer with the company. Someone on the Help Desk staff took it upon themselves to simply remove all the user’s roles in CRM an assumed that was sufficient.  In fact, the user’s account was still active.

So what is the appropriate route for dealing with user’s in such a case? My suggestion would involve 2 steps:

1. If the user isn’t with the company anymore, someone will likely take over their work load. The CRM Dev Team has thought about this and has added a handy little feature for doing just that.

ReassignRecords

Simply open the user form for the user in question, hit the Actions menu, and choose Reassign Records. Doing so allows you to reassign them to yourself or another user, as shown below.

ChooseReassignRecipient

Do take the time to read the text in the yellow box. It doesn’t matter what state the record is in, if you reassign it to yourself, it’s yours. That includes all deactivated records too.

2. Now that all the records belong to someone else, you should disable the user’s account so that it’s tucked away for safekeeping.

Cheers!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s